Dr Julia Gonnella
Director of the Museum of Islamic Art (MIA)
Doha, Qatar

Dr. Julia Gonnella is the Director of the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha. She joined Qatar Museums in April 2017.

Inaugurated in November 2008, the Museum of Islamic Art (MIA) is Qatar Museum’s flagship museum and one of Qatar’s best visited sites with one of the world’s leading collections of its kind. As director, Dr. Julia is responsible for the full leadership of this museum, its formative management as well as its full programming.  Her current priority lies in the relaunch of the museum that involves an upgrade of the current space to be ready for the World Cup in 2022. It will introduce a completely new and more family-friendly visitor experience that allows for a much deeper understanding of the rich Islamic heritage and culture.

Previously, Dr Julia worked in the Museum of Islamic Art in Berlin where she oversaw numerous exhibitions and research projects. One of her principal research interests focused on the Citadel of Aleppo where she has been excavating for over ten years. A scholar of Islamic art and archaeology, she authored or edited ten books and over forty articles, including exhibition catalogues, such as Syria Matters, for MIA’s tenth year anniversary. She also has been teaching at Berlin and Bamberg universities.

Dr Julia earned both her B.A. in Islamic Art and Archaeology and M.A. in Social Anthropology at the School of Oriental and African Art (SOAS) in London. She received her Ph.D. from the Eberhard Karls University in Tübingen (Germany).

د. جوليا غونيلا
مدير متحف الفن الإسلامي

 د. جوليا غونيلا هي مدير متحف الفن الإسلامي في الدوحة. انضمت إلى متاحف قطر في أبريل 2017. 

تم افتتاح متحف الفن الإسلامي في نوفمبر 2008، وهو أحد أكثر المواقع التي تمت زيارتها في قطر ويحتوي على واحدة من أفضل مجموعة المقتنيات الفنية من نوعها في العالم. والدكتورة جوليا مسؤولة عن قيادة المتحف، وإدارته البنيوية، فضلاً عن برامجه. وأولويتها الحالية هي إعادة إطلاق المتحف، وهذا يشمل زيادة مساحة المتحف الحالية لتكون جاهزة لكأس العالم في عام 2022. وسوف يقدم المتحف تجربة جديدة تمامًا وملائمة أكثر لزائري المتحف من العائلات للتعرف على التراث والثقافة الإسلامية.  

قبل ذلك، عملت الدكتورة جوليا في متحف الفن الإسلامي في برلين حيث أشرفت على العديد من المعارض والمشاريع البحثية. وقد ركزت إحدى اهتماماتها البحثية الرئيسية على قلعة حلب حيث قامت بحملات للتنقيب لأكثر من عشر سنوات. وهي باحثة في الفن الإسلامي وعلم الآثار، ألّفَت وحررت عشرة كتب وأكثر من أربعين مقال، بما في ذلك كتالوجات المعارض، مثل كتالوج معرض "سوريا سلاماً"، والذي استضافه متحف الفن الإسلامي بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية العاشرة له، كما أنها كانت تحاضر في كل من جامعتي برلين وبامبرغ.   

حصلت الدكتورة جوليا على شهادة البكالوريوس في الفن الإسلامي والآثار وماجستير في الأنثروبولوجيا الاجتماعية من كلية الفن الشرقي والأفريقي في لندن. كما حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة إيبرهارد كارلز في توبنغن (ألمانيا).