Insert text here

Welcome to the Reimagined MIA

The museum is now open following a facilities enhancement project and the reimagination and reinstallation of its permanent collection galleries.

Share with a friend

As part of the project, more than 1,000 objects – many newly conserved or acquired – are now displayed in the museum’s permanent galleries for the first time, alongside the masterpieces for which MIA has long been recognised.

The reimagining of the collection galleries introduces a comprehensive visitor trail, creates expanded interpretive materials to help contextualise the masterworks and provides new mobile and child-friendly resources to make the museum more accessible for families and younger guests.

The galleries are organised according to broad historical and cultural themes, periods and geography, and explore the great traditions of Islamic craftsmanship. MIA has also introduced a new section on Islam in Southeast Asia, focusing on the connection between different cultures through exhibits on the trade of commodities and the exchange of ideas across the Islamic world and beyond.

About the Galleries

The newly created 'Family Trail' is a key component of the gallery refurbishment to engage young visitors on topics that relate to their own lives and experiences. Utilising new technologies, interactive displays and multi-sensory applications further engage visitors of all ages throughout the museum.

Adding to the visitor experience, and complementing the many incredible artefacts and artworks on display, guests will encounter images and films of different architecture and sites from the Middle East, listen to the Holy Qurʾan and Arabic and Persian poetry, as well as music from al-Andalus; they can learn about the different fragrances of herbs and spices that travelled long distances across the Islamic world; and will get a sense of the different materials and decorations used in the arts over time.

This enhancement will benefit generations of visitors, providing an even more meaningful experience and allowing guests to explore the rich vast history of the Islamic World as told through our unparalleled collection.

Dr Julia Gonnella, Director, MIA

The enhanced and expanded experience allows the museum to welcome a larger audience, with a reframed entrance and upgraded cafés and retail locations. All improvements to the building are in keeping with I.M. Pei’s vision. Throughout the reinstallation process, MIA once again collaborated with Wilmotte & Associés, the French interior design and architecture firm first retained by I.M. Pei.

To celebrate MIA’s reopening, Qatar Museums and Thames & Hudson have co-published a beautifully illustrated 500+ page catalogue dedicated to the history and collection of the Museum of Islamic Art.

Insert text here

أهلاً بكم في متحف الفن الإسلامي بحلّته الجديدة

يرحب متحف الفن الإسلامي بزوّاره ويستقبلهم بحلة جديدة بعد مشروع تحسين المرافق، وإعادة تصور وتركيب صالات عرض مجموعته الدائمة.

وكجزء من هذا المشروع، سيقدّم المعرض أكثر من 1000 قطعة فنية مقتناة ومحفوظة حديثاً، ويعرض العديد منها في صالات العرض الدائمة بالمتحف لأول مرة، إلى جانب التحف الفنية التي اشتهر بها متحف الفن الإسلامي منذ فترة طويلة.

وستقدم إعادة تصور لصالات العرض، التي تضم مجموعة المتحف، مساراً شاملاً للزوار، مع تطوير محتوى تفسيري موسع يضع الأعمال ذات الحيثية ضمن سياقها، وتوفير موارد جديدة منوعة وملائمة للأطفال، ما يجعل المتحف أكثر قرباً من العائلات والزائرين الصغار.

كما ستنظّم صالات العرض وفقاً للمواضيع التاريخية والثقافية، والفترات الزمنية، والنطاقات الجغرافية، وستكشف عن تقاليد عظيمة لمهارة الصنعة الإسلامية. سيقدم متحف الفن الإسلامي أيضاً قسماً جديداً عن الإسلام في جنوب شرق آسيا، مركّزاً على العلاقة بين الثقافات المختلفة من خلال المعارض التي تتناول تجارة السلع، وتبادل الأفكار عبر العالم الإسلامي وخارجه.

تغمرنا السعادة لأن الجمهور المحلي سيحظى بفرصة استكشاف المتحف مرة أخرى، وإننا ندعو الزوار القادمين لحضور مباريات كأس العالم، أن يشاركوا في إحدى أهم التجارب التي تعبر عن تراثنا وثقافتنا.

سعادة الشيخة المياسة بنت حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني، رئيس مجلس أمناء متاحف قطر

يعدّ "المسار العائلي"، الذي أُنشئ حديثاً، مكوناً رئيسياً في أعمال التجديد التي شهدتها صالة العرض، حيث يهدف إلى إشراك الزوار الصغار في المواضيع التي تتعلق بحياتهم وتجاربهم الخاصة. ويؤدي استخدام التقنيات الحديثة، والعروض التفاعلية، والتطبيقات متعددة الحواس، إلى زيادة إشراك الزوار والأطفال والكبار على حد سواء في جميع أنحاء المتحف.

إضافة إلى إثراء تجربة الزوّار، واستكمالاً للعديد من القطع الأثرية والروائع الفنية المتاحة في العرض، سيطّلع الزوّار على صور وأفلام بقوالب هندسية معمارية متنوعة، ومواقع أثرية مختلفة من الشرق الأوسط، وسيُصغون إلى تلاوات من القرآن الكريم وقراءات من الشعر العربي والفارسي، ويستمعون للموسيقى الأندلسية؛ كما يمكنهم التعرف على روائح مختلفة للأعشاب والتوابل التي سافرت لمسافات طويلة عبر العالم الإسلامي؛ وسيتمكّنون من الاطلاع على مواد وزخارف مختلفة كانت تُستخدم في الفنون على مدار الزمن.

سيعود مشروع الحلة الجديدة هذا بالفائدة على أجيال من الزوار، وسيوفر لهم تجربة أكثر عمقاً، يتعرّفون من خلالها على التاريخ الحافل للعالم الإسلامي، كما تحكيه مجموعاتنا الفريدة.

الدكتورة جوليا غونيلا

تُسهم التجربة الواسعة التي طالها التحسين في تسهيل توافد الزوار لخدمة أكبر عدد من الزوّار، من خلال مدخل معاد تشكيله، ومقاهٍ، ومواقع بيع بالتجزئة في حلل جديدة. توافق جميع التحسينات التي أُجريت على المبنى رؤية المصمم" آي إم باي". وسيتعاون المتحف مع شركة "ويلموت وشركاؤه" الفرنسية للتصميم الداخلي والهندسة المعمارية، والتي سبق واستعان بها آي إم باي، طوال عملية إعادة التركيب.

واحتفاءً بإعادة الافتتاح، شاركت متاحف قطر ودار نشر تايمز وهدسون في نشر الكتالوج المصور بشكل بديع، الذي يحتوي على ما يزيد عن 500 صفحة، والمخصص لتاريخ ومجموعة متحف الفن الإسلامي.

شارك هذه الصفحة